iOS 8.1 Quick Tip: How to send a video or audio message using the new Messages app

iOS 8.1 Quick Tip: How to send a video or audio message using the new Messages appThis is an iOS 8.1 quick tip on how to send a video or audio message using the new Messages app. With iOS 8, Apple introduced a new way to quickly and easily send audio and video messages to others who have an iOS device and the Messages app.

It is fairly obvious how to send an audio message. All you need to do is open the Messages app and create a new message or tap on an existing one. You will notice a little Microphone symbol on the bottom left of the screen next to the area where you enter text. To send an audio message, simply tap and hold on this mic icon and record your message. Let go when you are done and then send your audio message. You can also swipe up when you are done recording to automatically send the audio message.

iOS 8.1 Quick Tip: How to send a video or audio message using the new Messages appYou can also send video messages. The way to do this is not as obvious. Here is how: you use the Camera icon to the left of the area you typically enter text to send a message. If you tap on the Camera icon, it asks if you want to attach a video or image. However, we just want to send a video message. So, instead of tapping on the icon, you will want to tap and hold for a couple of seconds. When you do this, the front camera turns on and a red record button appears. Simply tap this button and start recording your video message. When you are done, tap send. That’s it. You can also start recording a video message by tapping and holding the camera icon and then sliding your finger over to the record button. Doing this all in one motion will activate video message mode and begin recording automatically.

All video and audio messages are saved for 2 minutes by default and then automatically deleted. This is to save memory space on your device. You are able to change these settings by opening the Settings App and going to the Messages settings. From there you can choose between these messages expiring in 2 Minutes or Never.

Leave a Reply